Our former colleagues


  • Dr. Abádi Nagy Zoltán retired Professor Emeritus (1965-2010)
  • ✝ Dr. Korponay Béla (died in 2019) retired Professor Emeritus
  • Dr. Virágos Zsolt retired professor (1965-2012), doctor of HAAS
  • Dr. Bársony Olga retired associate professor (1978-2011)
  • Dr. Bertha Csilla retired associate professor (1990-2011)
  • Dr. Hollósy Béla retired associate professor (1973-2011)
  • Kissné dr. Gulyás Judit retired associate professor (1981-2011)
  • ✝ Dr. Lieli Pál (died in 2021) retired assistant professor (1993-2009)
  • Dr. Molnár Judit retired associate professor (1981-2020)
  • ✝ Dr. Mónos Katalin (died in 2015) assistant professor (1996-2015)
  • Dr. Németh Lenke retired associate professor (1995-2020)
  • Dr. Pelyvás Péter retired associate professor (1975-2011)
  • Dr. Sankó Gyula retired assistant professor (1996-2022)
  • Dr. Szaffkó Péter retired associate professor (1978-2013)
  • ✝ Dr. Varró Gabriella (died in 2014) associate professor (1992-2014)


List of visiting teachers, 1990-2014


  • Robert J. Bearce (academic year of 2019-20) English Language Fellow (USIS)
  • Dr. Jim Casey (spring semester 2019) Fulbright-professor, Arcadia University, Philadelhia (USA)
  • Larissa Peltola (spring semester 2019) Fulbright Assistant
  • Dr. Leah Marie Perry (fall semester 2017) Fulbright-professor, SUNY-Empire State College
  • Dr. Paul D. Mayle (spring semester 2017) Fulbright-professor, Mount Vernon Nazarene University (Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA)
  • Susanne Inger Liaw (academic year of 2015/16) Fulbright Teaching Assistant
  • Dr. Kenneth R. Stevens (fall semester 2014) Fulbright-professor, Fort-Worth, Texas, USA
  • Steven Fischer (fall semester 2014), Fulbright specialist, Emmy-award nominated producer
  • Dr. Daniel Ding (fall semester 2013) Fulbright-professor, Ferris State University (Big Rapids, Michigan, USA) 
  • James W. Oberley (spring semester 2013) Fulbright-professor
  • Johanna Granville (fall semester 2011) Fulbright-professor
  • Dr. Richard Wayne Griffin (spring semester 2011) Fulbright-professor, Ferris State University (Big Rapids, Michigan, USA)
  • Scott H. Huffmon (fall semester 2009) Fulbright-professor
  • Margaret M. Manchester (fall semester 2008) Fulbright-professor
  • Murray R. Nelson (academic year of  2007/2008) Fulbright Országh Chair
  • Charles Sullivan III (spring semester 2008) Fulbright-professor
  • Donald T. Wesling (spring semester 2007) Fulbright Országh Chair
  • Esther Thyssen (academic year of 2006/2007) Fulbright-professor
  • David L. Vanderwerken (spring semester 2005) Fulbright-professor
  • Reinhold Hill (fall semester 2004) Fulbright-professor
  • David Canon (academic year of  2003/2004) John Marshall Chair
  • Richard K. Scher (academic year of  2002/2003) John Marshall Chair
  • Aurora Pineiro Carballeda (academic year of  2002/2003) Mexican visiting teacher
  • Dr. John J. Jablonski (academic year of 2002/2003) Fulbright-professor, Ferris State University (Big Rapids, Michigan, USA), Professor Emeritus
  • John P. Resch (academic year of  2001/2002) Fulbright-professor
  • Roger H. Davidson (fall semester 2001) John Marshall Chair


Updated: 2022.02.08.

Dear User!


The University of Debrecen considers the protection of personal data and the information provided to be of paramount importance. We hereby inform you that the University of Debrecen has reviewed its processes and incorporated the requirements of GDPR into his own data management and data protection activities, which entered mandatory on may 25,2018. The personal data of the users has been carefully handled by the University of Debrecen, it complies with the applicable data management regulations.Following the requirements of GDPR, we updated our Privacy Statement, which you can access by clicking on the link below: Privacy Policy.

I have read, understand and agree to terms.